Past Event

Classical Music Performance

March 21, 2023
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Faculty House, 64 Morningside Dr., New York, NY 10027 Garden Room 2

Classical music performance by Columbia musicians Marco Jimenez, Raunak Kumar, Sasha He, and Jonathan Hou. 

Enjoy a music performance by Columbia musicians Marco Jimenez (piano), Raunak Kumar (violin), Sasha He (cello), and Jonathan Hou (piano), lunch at Faculty House, and the company of fellow EPICureans.

Johannes Brahms – Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel, Op. 24
Marco A. Jimenez, piano

Florence Price – Adoration
Raunak Kumar, violin; Marco Jimenez, piano

Sergei Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No. 1: II. Scherzo
Raunak Kumar, violin; Marco Jimenez, piano

George Frederic Handel/Johan Halvorsen – Passacaglia, Op. 20 No. 2
Raunak Kumar, violin; Sasha He, cello

Johannes Brahms: Sonata No. 2 in F major, Op. 99 for Cello and Piano
Sasha He, cello; Jonathan Hou, piano

Marco A. Jimenez is a composer, organist, pianist, and violinist. He is in his second-year of studies attending both Columbia and Juilliard in their cross-registration program. Marco is a John Jay Scholar majoring in philosophy at Columbia and is studying composition under John Corigliano and organ under Paul Jacobs at Juilliard.

Raunak Kumar started playing at the age of six. He studies privately with Siwoo Kim while attending Columbia University where he is majoring in Applied Mathematics. Raunak made his orchestral debut with the Georgia Youth Symphony and his Carnegie Hall debut at the age of fourteen. Passionate about using music for good, Raunak created a concert series called Give Bach that raised over $6,000 dollars for Covid relief through nine virtual concerts of Solo Bach.

Sasha He is a senior in the Columbia-Juilliard Exchange studying Biochemistry and Cello Performance with Darrett Adkins. She has won prizes in the National YoungArts Foundation Competition and the MTNA Performance Competitions. Her (tentative/ideal) post-grad plans include completing a graduate diploma at Juilliard for a year before matriculating to medical school. 

Pianist-composer Jonathan Wang Hou hails from the San Francisco Bay. A second year at Columbia University, he studies with Shai Wosner of the Juilliard School while pursuing a bachelor’s degree in mathematics. Wang Hou is as active a soloist as he is collaborator: as an alumnus of the Bay-Area based Young Chamber Musicians program, he has worked with members of the Telegraph Quartet and the American Chamber Players, and has toured with the Menlo Chamber Orchestra.

RSVP to attend in person or join via Zoom


Contact Information

Emeritus Professors in Columbia (EPIC)
(212) 854-8083